Opsgility Official Training

Red Hat Certified Engineer (Rhce) Exam Ies (Ex300K)

Students in a classroom-min

Course Description

The Red Hat Certified Engineer Exam (IES) is a performance-based evaluation of Red Hat Enterprise Linux system administration skills and knowledge. You will perform a number of routine system administration tasks and be evaluated on whether you have met specific objective criteria. Performance-based testing means that you must perform tasks similar to what you must perform on the job. 

About this course

Who Needs to Attend

  • Current Red Hat Certified System Administrators (RHCSAs) 
  • Linux IT professionals the can demonstrate the competencies needed to earn an RHCE, but have not taken the RHCE 
  • Solaris Administrators with greater than three years experience 
  • Red Hat Certified Engineers who were certified on Red Hat Enterprise Linux version 4, 5, or 6

Course Outline

  • Diagnose and correct boot failures arising from bootloader, module, and filesystem errors 
  • Use the rescue environment to recover unbootable systems 
  • Diagnose and correct problems with network services 
  • Diagnose and correct problems where SELinux contexts or booleans are interfering with proper operation 
  • Produce and deliver reports on system utilization (processor, memory, disk, and network) 
  • Use bash shell scripting to automate system maintenance tasks 
  • Install the packages needed to provide the service 
  • Configure SELinux to support the service 
  • Configure the service to start when the system is booted 
  • Configure the service for basic operation 
  • Configure host-based and user-based security for the service 
  • Services to be configured (with *additions* to above tasks): 
  • HTTP/HTTPS: virtual hosting, private directories, stage a CGI script, group managed content 
  • DNS: caching name server, DNS forwarding 
  • FTP: anonymous-only download, anonymous "drop-box" upload (provisional) 
  • NFS: share a directory to specific clients, share for group collaboration 
  • SMB: share a directory to specific clients, share for group collaboration 
  • SMTP: null client, outbound smarthost relay, accepting inbound 
  • SSH: key-based authentication, port forwarding 
  • Rsyslog: remote logging 
  • NTP: serve to selected clients 
  • Use /proc/sys and sysctl to modify and set kernel run-time parameters 
  • Use iptables to implement packet filtering 
  • Route IP traffic and use iptables for NAT 
  • Establish IP static routes 
  • Configure Ethernet bonding 
  • Manage default user/group password policies 
  • Build a simple rpm that packages a single file 
  • Configure system as an iSCSI Initiator persistently mounting existing Target 
  • Authenticate to an existing Kerberos V realm (provisional) 
  • Create a private yum repository (provisional) 

Ready to get started?